Free Information

Columbia, SC Relocation Information

About Richland County

Named for the sprawling “rich land” that supported hearty indigo and cotton plantations for generations, Richland County today is home to a diverse population of more than 390,000 residents.

The County was carved out of the Camden District in 1785 and flourished with rolling farmland as important trade routes were established along the Santee, Congaree and Saluda rivers. In 1786, the state capital was relocated from coastal Charleston to the geographic center of the state, and a new city was born. Once Columbia was established as the state capital and county seat, Richland County’s boundaries were formally incorporated on Dec. 18, 1799. Read More (credits to Richland County Gov Page)

Lexington County

With a rich historical background and promises of a strong future, Lexington County provides a diverse community, endless economic opportunities and prosperous growth. Located in the Midlands of South Carolina, Lexington County is known as one of the fastest growing areas in the state and region. As a leader in business and industry, Lexington County provides an outstanding quality of life with a reasonable cost of living. Featuring a temperate climate, convenient location and access to Lake Murray, Lexington County offers exceptional recreational and residential opportunities. Read more (credits to Lexington County Government Website)

Kershaw County

Kershaw County is located in one of South Carolina’s most historic regions, where more than a dozen fierce Revolutionary War confrontations raged approximately two centuries ago. 
Two Kids in Costumes in front of HouseIn 1732, English traders and farmers moved to the area from the Charleston coast, nearly 50 years before those famous battles. They established Camden, considered the oldest inland city in the state. It was named for Charles Pratt, Lord of Camden. Read More (credits to Kershaw County Government Website)
Share by: